Elton John’s Love Songs

Can you feel the love tonight?

I know I was able to,

as we drove to the beach on the cold highway in late August.

Your song was on the radio

It was a slow sad song,

about a lonely soul who had no valentines.

I guess that’s why sad songs say so much.

 

There’s something about the way you look tonight,

that makes me realize you’re the one.

I don’t believe the end will come for us,

despite the sacrifice of long distance.

 

Don’t go breaking my heart,” I tell you,

as you say “I couldn’t if I tried.”

Your healing hands embrace me,

and I whisper softly,

Hold me closer, tiny dancer.”

 

The Indian sunset signaled it was time to go,

a goodbye soon to follow.

But we’ve said goodbye before,

and I’m still standing.

 

Long distance relationships are the reason why

I guess that’s why they call it the blues.

Leave a Reply

