Uncategorized

A Letter To Those Who Doubted Me

Dear all,

Guess what? You didn’t break me. You didn’t cause me to stop trying, to stop shooting for the stars, and to reach my goals. You may have inflicted doubt on me, which caused me to believe that I am incapable of reaching my goals, but despite your attempts, I will never give up.

You tried to bring me down. And, you may have caused me to spend some time feeling sorry for myself, and wallowing in self-pity with some Netflix and some cookies.

But, that isn’t going to happen anymore.

So, to the boy that broke my heart, guess what I still believe that I am worthy of love, and that I will find an amazing partner. To the professor who said that I wasn’t a good writer, guess who is making a living as one. To the boss whose words cut me down with their doubts, guess who is making strides to being a journalist.

That’s right – me.

You all were just roadblocks in my success. And, when I do reach that point, I promise to be as obnoxious about it as humanly possible. Because, despite what you may have done or said, I am still going to shine.

So, thank you for breaking my heart, for telling me that I am not good enough, and for doubting me. Because of your doubt, the pain that you caused, and the amount of times that you said that I couldn’t do anything, you made me want to get to the top that much more. And, once I get there, I will appreciate it that much more.

I’m going to prove you wrong – just you see.

Leave a Reply

